The Celtic Sea Herring Management Advisory Committee (CSHMAC) is a Ministerially appointed Committee which has its origins the South West Pelagic group and was given formal recognition by the then Minister in 2005. The CSHMAC is comprised of representatives from the four Fish Producer Organisations together with representatives from the National Inshore Fisheries Forum, the Fish Co-Ops and Processors. There are a number of appointed experts to the Committee from the Marine Institute, Sea Fisheries Protection Authority and the Irish Whale and Dolphin Group. The primary purpose of the CSHMAC is to provide advice in relation to the management of the Celtic Sea Herring Stock and Fishery off the South West Coast of Ireland. The Committee meets at relevant intervals during the year to discuss issues of concern to the fishery such as scientific advice regarding the state of the stock and also proposals in relation to future management arrangements. Participation in the Committee is limited to those nominated by the Minister. 


From 2010 to date the Committee has had the responsibility for managing MSC Certification for the fishery which is subject to an annual surveillance audit. 

For 2016 the CSHMAC work plan includes developing a plan for the management of the fishery, evaluating the impact of the implementation of the Landing Obligation as the number of species covered by it continues to increase. The Committee will also continue to work with the Marine Institute to develop the scientific advice for the stock with a particular emphasis for 2016 on the acoustic survey in addition to its role in the provision of advice to the Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine in relation to the management arrangements for both the Main and Sentinel fishery. 


The Committee is Chaired by the Irish South and West Fish Producers Organisation who can be contacted on 

June 2016 


Celtic Sea Herring Management Advisory Committee 

Representation as at 1st June 2016  





Proxy Representative  





Mr. Frank Fleming




Mr. Liam O’ Driscoll  

Mr. Brendan O’ Driscoll  





Mr. John Ward  

Mr. Francis O’ Donnell  


Mr. James Orpen  






Mr. Hugo Boyle  

Mr. Richard Power  


Mr. Steven Burke  

Mr. Paul Daniels  





Mr. Ted Breslin  

Mr. Sean O’ Donoghue  





Ms. Trudy McIntyre



Mr. Eddie Moore






Mr. Donal O’ Sullivan  

Mr. Sean Griffin   


Mr. Dermot Sheehy  

Mr. Ricky O’ Cathain  


Mr. Thomas Keane   

Mr. Bertie Faherty  

Mr. Cathal Grunell  

Appointed Experts  






Marine Institute  

Dr. Maurice Clarke  


Irish Whale &

Dolphin Group  

Dr. Simon Berrow  


Sea Fisheries  

Protection Authority  

Mr. Alan Mullery

Mr. Chris Nalty  


Contact Information;             Celtic Sea Herring Management Advisory Committee  

                                            C/O Irish South & West Fish Producers Organisation Ltd.  

              The Pier, Castletownbere, Co. Cork                  Email  

                                                    Tel; +00353-27-70670   Fax: +00353-27-70771